A Charmed Life

rage, rage against the dying of the light

35 Comments

believeThroughout this past year I have had the unpleasant experience of being trolled on Twitter. The first time it happened I went all Norma Rae telling all and sundry I was not going to stand for it: I complained to Twitter about the vicious and inappropriate nature of the comment and then I committed the cardinal sin – I replied back. I let the troll know in a few choice words that they had no business talking to me so rudely and that I was someone to be reckoned with and they would be sorry. I meant every word. More! Fool! Me! Alas, what ensued was a back and forth which only succeeded in fuelling the troll and upsetting me further (with Twitter doing bugger all). What did I do! What else could I do! I stopped engaging and blocked the troll (needless to say this was not my Lifetime movie moment). 

Here’s the thing though, trolls are like pimples on a 14 year old’s face. You can witch hazel them out but the fuckers just keep coming back – different troll, same degree of meanness. Still I learnt to not feed the beast and jog on, it helped that I have strong conviction about who I am and what I believe in. I have always believed power comes from speaking the clearest truth and I am happy to speak up for what I believe in, as Martin Luther King Jr said “our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.” So at times when I have felt blue about the sheer awfulness we human beings are capable of I kept my eyes on the prize and focused on that light at the end of the proverbial tunnel.

Well as we all know the prize was not won and that light has somewhat dimmed, in actual fact in the last few weeks I haven’t been able to see it at all. For a Sagittarian that is a hard place to be, I am by nature a glass half full person but I was shocked into silence. I remain in shock. It is impossible for me to fathom that after Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, F.D.R., Kennedy, Reagan, Clinton, Obama now comes this orange anus – I can’t even bring myself to say it’s name. I won’t. This was not just an election to me. I am not American, most of what will come into policy and be administered will not affect me. What frightens me the most is that we have witnessed the debasing of our values, ideals and dare I say of our very souls, hate has been given hope – the trolls are winning. This is a dangerous precedent to set for all of mankind.

Still what is done can’t be undone (or can it? Recount? Mental assessment on ability to govern? Jailable scandal?)
And even though we – the sane majority – lost this one, what I have seen in these last few weeks is that we are stronger together.
And together we have much work to do.
Now is the time we roll up our sleeves and dig even deeper to constantly lean towards positive change.
For that is the way of a warrior.
We never give up.
To quote Dylan Thomas we do not go gentle into that good night.

For one day our time will come.
I still believe this.
One day.

Sat Nam

And… Bookended by the death of my beloved David Bowie and the election of the most awful example of a human as leader of the free world – 2016 the year of loss I only have one thing to say – fuck you 2016!

Author: akiwigirlabroad

'the universe always has your back'

35 thoughts on “rage, rage against the dying of the light

  1. Wow awesome – love everything you said – and I love Bowie too ❤️

  2. The psychology of online trolls is sad, fascinating, and utterly infuriating. Pity the poor weasels, and know that you’re part of the above-ground world, where we appreciate and respect you and your words.

  3. Those trolls are sorry examples of human flesh. We must not give them the satisfaction of knowing they have bothered us……. Please know that a majority of Americans are as perplexed and saddened by the orange, nameless anus that a very active and vocal minority of misfits have elected to be buffoon-in-chief. As endorsers of freedom and peaceful co-existence in the world, our task now is to fight the viciousness that has been unleashed in America. May God help us.

  4. The most important thing is to insist on the law, the constitution and due process. Much of what Trump proposes (e.g. Discrimination on grounds of religion) is unconstitutional. He cannot be allowed to continue to run his businesses. Etc. Is there any nonsense of this kind in NZ?

    • As far as I can see from afar NZ has and is being run by competent, fair and just human beings. I haven’t lived in NZ for 19 years so I know very little about the politics over there.
      Problem is that he doesn’t have any respect for the law, the constitution or due process so who knows if he’ll actually follow anything that is expected.

  5. “This Orange Anus” …………. akiwigirtabroad, priceless. Made Tubularsock laugh aloud!

    Tubularsock is still looking for that “sane majority” you mention. Haven’t found them on this planet yet. Good luck with that.

  6. great topic – there will always be trolls – we must stay on track and continue to strive for what we believe in

  7. Yes – and your piece brings to my mind the concept in psychoanalysis that we have to become aware of the symptom before we can begin to work with it and I think your piece expresses clearly the symptom that has erupted in this god forsaken year of proliferation of hate and the use of hate to promote the very worst side of human culture. Yes let’s not stop believing and getting to understand these underlying structures.

  8. One piece of good news as the far right lost the Austrian election. One for our side….
    And we can only hope that the election of the orange buffoon will spark a real renewal of the Democratic party in the US and ensure that this craziness ends now.
    Thanks for a great post!

  9. Love reading your post, and agree, ignore the trolls. it is sad but for our own good, we must.

  10. Having dealt with a troll before as well I know how you feel. It helped when my cousin reminded me that my light was so bright this troll was trying to step into it so they could gain some shine. I wound up closing an account on a social media site just so I wouldn’t have to deal with the fool, because you are right, blocking them doesn’t help. All they do is find someone else’s page to talk about you on. My peace came from the distance. I have never gone back to the site although I might later on. Don’t cast your pearls before swine as the Bible says, but remain a bright light. Shine so strong that weaker beings will not be able to stand the heat. God Bless-Lena

  11. I love the way that you speak your mind!

  12. Great topic. It is very difficult to post something within 140 characters. Not like wordpress or FB. I have been on T witter for nearly 4 years but very cautious of my posts. Never try to polarise. Best thing what you could do is write your views on your blog and then link up to twitter. But still there are some trollers waiting to harp on …… As you have mentioned the best thing is not to respond, and even if you respond add at the end to indicate that chapter is closed .
    Good luck for 2017.
    Cheers
    Saba

  13. We who carry the light ARE ABSOLUTELY REQUIRED TO SHINE IT BRIGHTER THAN EVER NOW!! This realization was the impetus to me starting my blog. You were my first like…thank you!!! Keep it up!! Much love and light!

  14. I just sent you a comment but now I don’t know I actually posted it!! Arghh!!technology!! Well I hope I posted it!! Xo

  15. Trolls are a problem. Right now they are out waiting to attack and we have to be aware and watch. 🙂 Hopefully, they will stop soon! Wish you the best!

  16. This is an awesome post… very relatable… thank you 👏😍

  17. Dear friend

    Do not worry, the days of this president is counted according to my opinion –
    we will see again a change and I think even quite soon.

    All the best
    Didi

  18. Trolls don’t like it if you correct their grammar, spelling, usage; and score them with points out of ten. The old ‘objective analysis’ sort of thing lifts standards for all parties.

    This may be relevant (or not) but a wise alcoholic once told me how he felt sorry for people who don’t drink, because when they wake up in the morning that’s as good as they are going to feel all day …

  19. Don’t go gentlle into that good night!

Leave a Reply

