A Charmed Life

this pussy bites back

34 Comments

I am pissed.
I am royally pissed that Helen Clark was not elected the new UN Secretary-General.
A lifetime of exemplary service for her country and now as head of the UN Development Programme rendered her the perfect candidate plus the UN is meant to remain neutral at all times, how more neutral can you be than a New Zealander. And yes as I have said before here I am completely bias – she is my fellow country woman and a twitter friend (I even taught her what the word ‘slay’ means in today’s young peoples’ speak) – but it wasn’t all pie in the sky on my part, I was duped and that is the real reason I am pissed.

When this race began one of the criteria laid out was that a woman ‘should’ take charge for the first time. This then was hyped up by the media and thousands of supporters. The outgoing Ban Ki-moon himself said “my replacement should be a woman.” The mix of candidates themselves seemed fair in that it was an even five each. So you see why I can forgiven for believing that at least the gender was a foregone conclusion. Alas… it was all bollocks and it has been decided that we go into the New Year with yet another MALE UN Secretary-General, one António Guterres who as it turns out has the same credentials as Aunty Helen. Shame on the UN and the security council, a valuable opportunity missed.

And if that wasn’t enough of a blow for the sisterhood we have this tape to contend with. You know which one I mean, the one on which we can clearly hear the misogynist – the Republicans still claim as their nominee – referencing women saying “You can do anything … Grab them by the pussy. You can do anything.” My fellow sisters, how do you like that! And ‘pussy’ isn’t even the most deplorable word in this statement; although in the social media savvy world we live in today it is almost neigh impossible to protect the younger generation from learning this language, but then this election campaign has been dirty to the nth degree. No restrain no respect. Abraham Lincoln must be turning in his grave at the joke his party has disintegrated into. I truly believe that much like German history with Hitler, historians will look back at this time and conclude this guy is the lowest ebb in American history.

History aside and as deplorable as the usage of ‘pussy’ might be, for me the most offensive word in this statement is ‘grab.’ And I don’t accept this as locker room banter, the guys I know who use locker rooms are usually too busy trying not to look at other penises to have time to engage in the promotion of sexual assault. Because that is what this is, a clear incitement of sexual assault. And NO you orange anus you are not automatically entitled to grab what you want no matter how rich or famous you may be.

We are not property.
We do not seek to be objectified.
We are not some kind of second class citizens.
We do not deserve to be held to a higher standard than our male contemporaries.
Nor do we consider ourselves the superior gender.
What we are is your equal.
What we want, well we want a lot of things but we will start with being treated equally
…and taking the top job at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.

Sat Nam

PS: To my American sisters, let’s make sure pussy bites back come November 8 #RidetheHillaryTrain #ObamaOutHillaryIn #letsSmashthatGlassCeiling #WhoRuntheWorld #AChangeisGonnaCome #MadamePresident

Author: akiwigirlabroad

'the universe always has your back'

34 thoughts on “this pussy bites back

  1. Unfortunately, things are not always as they seem…

  2. There is talk, and then there is action. The UN is famous for the former. I never expected a woman to be elected Secretary General, not given the makeup of the Security Council. So many different factors at play, and while it seems like a no-brainer to those of a western tradition, it isn’t seen that way by much of the world.

    Maybe next time.

  3. You nailed it, my friend. I did not know that in a locker room men are eyeing each others’ privates and not talking about females. Something to “look into” and I’ll let you know. As for Trump, what can I say? He WILL NOT be President Trump because more and more Americans are fed up with his elementary school antics. He truly does not represent who we are. May I reblog your post. I loved it.

  4. You say, “When this race began one of the criteria laid out was that a woman should take charge for the first time.” You make it sound like that is a rule “laid down” by the U.N. I can bet, though, that there is no official rule to that effect, as it would be blatantly discriminatory against 50% of the population who are male. YOU might want it; OTHERS might have spoken of it; but I feel certain that no rule requiring a female U.N. head was EVER enacted. Freedictionary.com lists a criterion/critera as being: A standard, rule, or test on which a judgment or decision can be based. http://www.thefreedictionary.com/criteria
    I would call it more of an opinion, a recommendation, or a suggestion having been made, rather than as “criteria” being “laid down.” Realized in that context, the results, then, would be rationally construed as being within the range of potential outcomes — i.e., that a female head is not a pre-determined and forgone conclusion.

    • I said ‘should’ as that was the wording I read on the UN press release, ‘should’ implies an urging, by no means a definite anything. I was saying it was easy to get swept up with the hype and there was a lot of hype if you followed this like I have.

  5. I am seriously afraid of a Trump America – talk about regression! All my fingers and toes are crossed that Hillary (though I’m honestly not that excited about her) wins! And yes what a shame Helen Clark did not get the job. We (Aussies) could learn a few things from you Kiwis – it would have been wonderful to have her in the top job.

  6. Thank you for your discussion of the UN secretary general. It was the first contribution at wordpress to that question I read. It is a shame, that Ban Ki Moon has to leave the office with war crimes on the agenda, which is not his fault, but a failure of the members of the security council. Not being familiar with any one candidate, I would have appreciated a female successor to him as well. Concerning the election, it was interesting to me, that there was quite a short procedure. Taking it optimistic, I would like to wish Antonio Guterres all the best for this task and hope the United Nations and the security council especially do better than recently. Good wishes to you and to him.

    • Agree the UN has not stepped up to plate of late, hopefully the new Secretary-General is able to helm it down the right path and actually help the vulnerable people on this planet instead of making situations worse. Thank you for reading.

  7. Yasssss! All of this! He has indeed exposed that “g*@&” is the dirty word….while PUSSY is powerful. Thank you for this! #ubettavote

  8. I didn’t blog about it but here’s why I believe that Trump’s statements are NOT locker room banter. He didn’t say when he sees a beautiful woman he FEELS like kissing them or grabbing them. He said “I just kiss them. I don’t even wait.” “Grab them by the pussy. You can do anything.” Those statements are admissions of acts he has already committed.

    Thank you for following my blog. It was dormant for a while but this election inspired me to start writing again. I am following yours now.

  9. Loved this one. I can barely stand to hear the bizarre stuff that comes out of Trump’s mouth, imagine it’s even worse for women. Thanks for the frank and unflinching post. Look forward to reading your stuff more in the future….

  10. The UN still remains a bit of a men’s club. Considering that women are the majority of humans on this planet it would make sense to have the first ever Woman General Secretary of the United Nations. Keep on pushing and hammering it will happen. Thanks for your post.

  11. Thank you for excellent post on the US presidential campaign. Living in Canada, it is really scary indeed to see our neighbour to the south falling apart. It makes me laugh to hear him condemn Hillary Clinton because of what Bill Clinton did. The hypocrisy of Trump trying to blame Hillary for Bill Clinton’s actions are the height of insanity. Even more so now that Melania Trump is defending her husbands “grab them by the pussy” as mere locker room talk. How can he now blame Hillary for the same thing that Melania is doing?

    It goes beyond locker room talk. Trump has been mistreating women since at least the days when he secretly kept Marla Maples at the Trump Plaza while he was still married to Ivana. In Harry Hurt’s book the Lost Tycoon he describes how Trump physically assaulted Ivana. Hitting her and pulling her hair. There are now about 14 women who have come forward to say Trump sexually molested them.

    American women and all sane Americans regardless of sex, race, religion, sexual orientation must get out and vote for Hillary, if we are to avoid the calamity of a Donald Trump presidency. I hope that Abraham Lincoln is right – Donald Trump you can fool some of the people, but not all of the people all of the time.

  12. Good article.
    Sad to say, Trump was elected, much to the displeasure and dismay of many Americans.
    And Helen Clark was not appointed; a man was.
    I thought we had made much more progress as women than we really have, but if there is one thing both of these situations bring to light, it is that women are still looked down on, denied opportunity and seriously mistreated. Let me bring to mind a quote by Rudi Juliani: “It’s better to have Trump as President than a woman.”

    I heard more than one man say that Trump’s comments and regard for women aren’t all that important. So what if he thinks it’s okay to “grab” women by the pussy!

    My sisters around the world, we have a lot of work to do! We must stand and push even harder than we have.

    • I still can’t believe it
      I wake everyday thinking its a very bad joke waiting for someone to tell me its not real
      But you are right
      We must carry on
      We must mourn but then we carry on there is still work to do
      More than I thought

      • Work to do more than we thought…isn’t that the truth! Honestly, I believed we were farther along in terms of respecting diversity and equal rights; was I mistaken. I should know better: I have certainly faced enough discrimination in my own life. Well, again, let’s get to work.

      • Keep your hopes and your heads up. History does not move in straight geometric lines. It moves as Hegel explained in a crazy dialectical dance that swings to and fro and swings back and fro and back lol.. thesis, antithesis, synthesis and back full circle…even the Buddha in the concept of dependent origination talks about the flip flopping of causes and conditions. Keep fighting, move forward. There will come a time when there will be a woman Secretary General of the UN and as surely as summer follows spring Trump will be history and gone too. LOL

      • “…as sure as summer follows spring, Trump will be history and gone.” Yaaaahooooo! There should be a gigantic party somewhere that day.

      • I wish that I could be as optimistic as you but in light of Trump’s recent cabinet picks, I fear that if he is allowed to take office, America will be damaged beyond repair. He has appointed Steve Bannon of Breitbart “news” as his Chief Strategist – a man who is a raging racist and part of the alt-right. He has appointed Michael Flynn as his National Security Advisor – a man who has appeared on RT, a Russian propaganda “news” site, and flew to Moscow to attend a dinner seated beside Putin. The CIA and NSA have found that Russia was behind the email hacks and suspect that they were feeding the information to Wikileaks. I posted all this on my site so I won’t go over it again. I also explained in one of my articles that the electoral college was established for the purpose of protecting Americans from tyranny and that their job is to assure that a qualified person is selected as President. If they just rubber stamp Trump because that’s their usual practice, they accomplish just the opposite of what they are supposed to do. It might not ultimately help but there are petitions out there asking the electoral college to go with the popular vote, especially since Clinton now has 1.3 Million more votes than Trump and is expected to have much more. I am urging everyone to sign one of those petitions. Never in any previous election have I experienced so much fear for the safety of this nation and its people.

      • I just visited your post and will forward it to a bunch of people I know who will gladly speak up.

  13. Completely agree with your post and as an American am deeply embarrassed by my country’s election of this disgrace.

  14. Reblogged this on Passing Through . . . ..

Leave a Reply

