A Charmed Life

be the light

3 Comments

bethelight.jpg

I originally starting writing a post on how angry I was over Ferguson, over New York, over Cleveland. I went on to say how when we are young we are taught to respect the police. They make school visits telling us it is their job to make us feel safe and protected and to catch the bad guys; but what happens when they are the bad guys. The more I wrote of their prejudice the more pissed I got so I decided to take a break to calm down.

During this break – which ended up being four days long – I participated in a workshop held by one of my teachers (Gabrielle Bernstein) during which I brought up how angry and upset I felt not only about the events over in the US but also of my own treatment by police earlier this year. I went on to conclude that this experience when I needed their help, had devoided any shred of respect I had for them (not that there had been much to begin with).

She replied and I’m paraphrasing here ‘the riots, the casualties and the overall chaotic energy in the world right now is why we must meditate. This is why we must choose a higher perception in every moment. We have a responsibility to be the light in order to balance out the darkness’

As she said this, I had this light bulb moment – my being angry and committing this anger to paper Word – was keeping me focused on the darkness. The world can be a scary place if you let it be, but it doesn’t have to be; at this time of year (and indeed any time of year) the best way to be in the highest service to the world is to celebrate your commitment to love. At times I find it really hard stay committed to the spiritual path I have chosen to be on, but I know if I continue to lean on joy I am choosing to be the light which is where I want to be.

….AND even though I am now somewhat subdued after my initial anger, I do not want to dim the memory of those who have lost their lives needlessly. Lost their lives because officers of the law believed they were a law unto themselves – this is not right, this is not okay as Martin Luther King, Jr said ‘Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.’ 

Sat Nam

Author: akiwigirlabroad

'the universe always has your back'

3 thoughts on “be the light

  1. well written, and I agree, you cannot trust the police, especially here in SA but you right, need to lose the anger and concentrate on good – light.

  2. Pingback: she’s all that | A Charmed Life

Leave a Reply

